Posted in Gastronomy

Restaurant reviews: part 2, Le Cinq (Paris)

Restaurant Le Cinq belongs to the beautiful Four Seasons George V Hotel. The hotel is famous for its flowery decoration and the color attack would blind you.

DSC_4949_small

DSC_4947_small

DSC_4976_smallDSC_4979_small

I dressed properly for the occasion. Gentlemen are asked to wear suits inside the restaurant – it’s another old-fashioned Parisian hotel. But if you don’t wear suit, no problem, they’ll provide one for you, as long as you’re not as picky as Jack Nicholson in As Good As It Gets.

For aperitif, they suggested 3 kinds of champagne. I already tasted Taittinger at its house, so I took another kind, a fruity champagne, which was very refreshing but a little cup of it costed me more than a whole bottle of Taittinger bought in Reims. Well, I’m not surprised, that’s the kind of price in these big name places, but lesson learned.

I asked them if I could go to the other corner to take a picture. I knew it’d bother other customers, I just asked to see how they replied. They politely told me No and explained. Good staff.

DSC_4932_smallDSC_4937_small

I ordered the Gourmet Lunch, which is less expensive than dinner menus, as usual. It’s a complete course that can fill the stomach of a grown man and fill the eyes of admirers. Amuse-bouches:

DSC_4938_smallDSC_4939_smallDSC_4941_smallDSC_4943_small

The main dishes were good too, but for the first time there was some taste that I wasn’t a fan. The raw sea urchin was fresh but I didn’t like its strong seafood smell. Maybe it’s just me. I normally don’t have difficulties with raw sashimi or oyster, if eaten with the right spice (wasabi, lemon etc.). Then, the molecular-ish French onion soup was creative and certainly looked more chic than the traditional one, but I prefer eating the latter. Not to mention, when you break that bubble in your mouth and hot soup pours out, your tongue might get burnt. It’d have been better if the waiter had warned me of it.

DSC_4946_small

Otherwise the red mullet with its crispy scales are delicious. I heard that eating fishes with their scales, fruits with theirs skin, vegetables with their roots, will get you a longer life; just don’t apply it to crayfish or pineapple.

DSC_4955_small

The deconstructed lemon meringue tart was pretty and still conserves all of its beloved flavor. I think this chef likes bubbles and deconstructed things.

DSC_4959_small

Some palate cleanser, a Norwegian omelet for dessert, then, surprise, a kouign-amann as a specialty from the Breton chef. Did I mentioned that I loved Breton chefs?

DSC_4960_smallDSC_4964_small

DSC_4971_small

They pushed a dessert cart and a cheese cart around. I can almost swear the ornate cart is as eye-pleasing as the chocolates it holds. I was too shy to take more than one tiny little-finger chocolate piece, but they gave me a small box of caramel candies to take home. I still keep those candies, and only give one to the best of my best friends.

DSC_4968_small

Overall, though there were still small things to be improved, but the meal was superb and the staffs were impeccable. When they saw that I took many pictures of the foods, they joked “We will check all the photos when you leave. None of the bad ones would go out of this door.” They were upright yet not too formal. They suggested to take one for me, so now I have a souvenir pic of myself among those vast flowers. I also heard that the wine pairing there was top notch. After all, the manager of the restaurant is a World Second Best Sommelier, if that means anything.

DSC_4967_smallDSC_4985_small

Rating: 4/5 muffin_4

Price: 145 euros/person, lunch full course, plus 30 euros something for the champagne

Author:

My stock websites for photos: https://www.picfair.com/eressea

Leave a Reply

